divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

The overall objective of the joint project “FlaBi” is to increase the resilience of inland vessels during pronounced periods of drought by extending their operational limits. To achieve this goal, three project partners are developing innovative ship designs with suitable propulsion systems in combination with lightweight structures. The new concepts will be concretized for the requirements of the Rhine and Elbe river at extreme low water levels. In addition, a retrofit concept for propulsion and steering devices will be developed for the existing fleet, which will improve suitability for extreme low-water conditions.

The propeller manufacturer J.M. Voith SE & Co. KG and University of Duisburg-Essen are project partners. Major shipping companies in inland navigation, the associations BDB, VBW and the shipyard SET Tangermünde support the project as associated partners.

In the sub-project “FlaBiTec”, DST is investigating three different propulsion concepts, a 2nd generation blade-chain drive, a modified paddle wheel drive and the conventional ducted propeller with regard to their operational limits. The appropriate integration of the propulsors into the ship’s hull represents a major challenge. In addition to different propulsors, design measures to reduce the lightweight are also being investigated. The technical developments will be suitably combined in dedicated ship designs. Subsequent model tests serve to identify the operational limits of the designed ships and enable a comparison with existing ships.

A further goal is the extension of numerical methods in order to enable a better prediction of the operational limits under extreme conditions at the early ship design stage.

Exemplary numerical simulation of a self-accelerating inland vessel with ventilating propellers.

Förderhinweis BMWi

 

The Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy is funding the project as part of the “Maritime Research Programme” under the funding reference 03SX532A.

 

 Dipl.-Ing Thomas Guesnet and Dipl.-Ing. Jens Ley will be pleased to provide more information. 

Error: Only up to 6 widgets are supported in this layout. If you need more add your own layout.

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Address

DST
Development Centre for
Ship Technology and Transport Systems

Oststr. 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Directions

divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

Das übergeordnete Ziel des Verbundprojektes „FlaBi“ ist die Steigerung der Resilienz der Binnenschiffe bei ausgeprägten Dürreperioden durch Ausweitung der Einsatzgrenzen bei Niedrigwasserbedingungen. Zur Erreichung des Ziels werden von drei Projektpartnern innovative Schiffsentwürfe mit geeigneten Propulsionsorganen in Kombination mit Leichtbaukonstruktionen entwickelt. Die neuen Konzepte werden an die gewässerseitigen Anforderungen des Rheins und der Elbe angepasst. Darüber hinaus soll für die bestehende Flotte ein Nachrüstkonzept für Propulsions- und Steuerorgane erarbeitet werden, welches die Eignung für extreme Niedrigwasserbedingungen verbessert.

Im Verbundvorhaben sind außerdem der Propellerhersteller J.M. Voith SE & Co. KG und die Universität Duisburg-Essen beteiligt. Maßgebliche Reedereien der Binnenschifffahrt, die Verbände BDB, VBW und die Werft SET Tangermünde unterstützen das Projekt als assoziierte Partner.

In dem Teilvorhaben „FlaBiTec“ untersucht das DST drei verschiedene Propulsionskonzepte, einen Blattkettenantrieb der 2. Generation, einen optimierten Schaufelradantrieb und den konventionellen Düsen-Propeller hinsichtlich der Einsatzgrenzen. Die geeignete Integration der Propulsoren in den Schiffsrumpf stellt dabei eine große Herausforderung dar. Neben unterschiedlichen Propulsionsorganen werden auch konstruktive Maßnahmen zur Reduktion des Leergewichts untersucht. Die technischen Entwicklungen werden jeweils geeignet in einem Schiffsentwurf vereint. Physikalische Modellversuche dienen der Identifikation der Einsatzgrenzen der entworfenen Schiffe und ermöglichen einen Vergleich mit bestehenden Schiffen.

Ein weiteres Ziel ist die Weiterentwicklung von numerischen Methoden, um zukünftig schon in der frühen Entwurfsphase eines Schiffes eine bessere Vorhersage der Einsatzgrenzen unter extremen Bedingungen zu ermöglichen.

Beispielhafte numerische Simulation eines Binnenschiffes mit austauchenden Propellern während des Anfahrens.

Förderhinweis BMWi

 

Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie fördert das Vorhaben im Rahmen des „Maritimen Forschungsprogramms“ unter dem Förderkennzeichen 03SX532A.

 

 

Die Ansprechpartner für das Projekt sind Dipl.-Ing Thomas Guesnet und Dipl.-Ing. Jens Ley.

 

Wegweisende Konzepte
für Schifffahrt und Logistik

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Adresse

DST
Entwicklungszentrum für
Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e. V.

Oststraße 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Anfahrt