divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

CoboTank

Robotic automation of the loading of inland tank vessels

Development and testing of collaborative and automated robotic systems to support the loading process of inland tank vessels

The advancing automation of inland waterway transport can only achieve its goals if it is viewed holistically. The importance of liquid cargo handling in German inland ports is often neglected. Current processes of liquid cargo handling are sometimes characterized by manual, physically strenuous and error-prone work. This project addresses the great need for future-proof, automated solutions in the field of liquid cargo handling.

In a first work stream, the project realizes a partial automation using a collaborative robot system, a so-called cobot, to support the loading process of inland tank vessels. Partial automation using a cobot promises an acceleration of processes, increased process reliability, the best possible occupational safety and a reduction in the physical and psychological burden on the operator. In addition to the cobot, a robotic arm is being developed in a second work stream to realize a fully automated refueling process.

The project aims to achieve the described objectives by means of a dual research strategy. To this end, an iterative approach is envisaged in accordance with VDI 2206, involving the use of simulations and scaled test systems. In the development of the partially automated cobot, a scaled test system will first be set up and tested at the Research Lab for Innovative Port Technologies (HaFoLa). In a later phase, the optimized system will be built on a real scale and tested at the tank section of the European Safety Center Duisburg e. V. at the Schiffer-Berufskolleg RHEIN (ESD) in Duisburg. An interdisciplinary approach involving engineers, psychologists and business economists will equally ensure the effectiveness and acceptance of the solutions.

 

Media review:

Project duration:

  • July 2022 – June 2025

Funding framework:

  • Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport, Innovative Port Technologies (IHATEC II)

 

Project coordination:

Project management:

Consortium management:

  • Matthias Bindschus
    Garant Mineral Oil Trading Company

 

Collaborative partners:

 

Associated partners:

The CoboTank research project is funded by the Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport under grant agreement no. 19H2204.

Error: Only up to 6 widgets are supported in this layout. If you need more add your own layout.

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Address

DST
Development Centre for
Ship Technology and Transport Systems

Oststr. 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Directions

divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

CoboTank

Robotergestützte Automatisierung der Beladung von Tankschiffen

Entwicklung und Erprobung kollaborativer und automatisierter Robotersysteme zur Unterstützung des Beladevorgangs von Tankschiffen

Die fortschreitende Automatisierung der Binnenschifffahrt ist nur zielführend, wenn diese ganzheitlich betrachtet wird. Der Stellenwert des Flüssiggutumschlags in deutschen Binnenhäfen wird hierbei oft vernachlässigt. Aktuelle Beladeprozesse von Tankschiffen sind mitunter von manueller, körperlich anstrengender und fehleranfälliger Arbeit geprägt. Der große Bedarf an zukunftssicheren, automatisierten Lösungen im Bereich des Flüssiggutumschlags wird mit diesem Vorhaben adressiert.

Das Projekt realisiert in einem ersten Arbeitsstrang eine Teilautomatisierung unter Einsatz eines kollaborativen Robotersystems, einem sogenannten Cobot, zur Unterstützung des Beladevorgangs von Tankschiffen. Eine Teilautomatisierung unter Einsatz eines Cobots verspricht eine Beschleunigung der Prozesse, eine erhöhte Prozesssicherheit, eine bestmögliche Arbeitssicherheit und eine Entlastung auf physischer und psychischer Ebene für den Bediener. Neben dem Cobot wird in einem zweiten Arbeitsstrang ein Roboterarm entwickelt, der einen vollständig automatisierten Betankungsprozess realisieren soll.

Das Projekt strebt die Umsetzung der beschriebenen Ziele mittels einer dualen Forschungsstrategie an. Dazu wird gemäß VDI 2206 eine iterative Vorgehensweise vorgesehen, die den Einsatz von Simulationen und skalierten Testsystemen vorsieht. Bei der Entwicklung des teilautomatisierten Cobots wird zunächst ein skaliertes Testsystem im Versuchszentrum für innovative Hafen- und Umschlagtechnologien (HaFoLa) aufgebaut und erprobt werden. In einer späteren Phase wird das optimierte System im Realmaßstab aufgebaut und an der Tanksektion des Europäischen Sicherheitszentrums Duisburg e. V. am Schiffer-Berufskolleg RHEIN (ESD) in Duisburg erprobt. Durch einen interdisziplinären Ansatz unter Einbeziehung von Ingenieuren, Psychologen und Betriebswirten wird die Wirksamkeit und Akzeptanz der Lösungen gleichermaßen sichergestellt.

 

Medien:

Projektlaufzeit:

  • Juli 2022 – Juni 2025

Förderkulisse:

  • BMDV, Innovative Hafentechnologien (IHATEC II)

 

Projektkoordination:

Projektleitung:

Konsortialführung:

  • Matthias Bindschus
    Garant Mineralölhandelsgesellschaft mbH

 

Verbundpartner:

 

Assoziierter Partner:

Dieses Vorhaben wird aus Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Digitales und Verkehr unter dem Förderkennzeichen 19H2204 (CoboTank) gefördert.

Wegweisende Konzepte
für Schifffahrt und Logistik

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Adresse

DST
Entwicklungszentrum für
Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e. V.

Oststraße 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Anfahrt