divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

‘JRF on site’ event: Urban supply via the waterway

On March 28, 2022, the online event ‘Urban supply via the waterway’ took place as part of the event series ‘JRF on site’. It was also designed as the final event of the research project ‘DeConTrans – Innovative concepts for a decentralized waterborne container transport’ with the participation of both DST and RIF, two of the JRF member institutes.


(Photo: DST e. V.)

Ramona Fels, vice chairwoman of the board and commercial director of the Johannes Rau Research Foundation, who also acted as moderator for the event, welcomed the participants. With almost 120 registrations, the event was met with lively interest among the professional public.

In his keynote address, Bernd Reuther MP (FDP), member of the German Bundestag, representative on the transport committee and spokesperson for the parliamentary group on inland navigation in the German Bundestag, spoke about the far-reaching, untapped potential of inland navigation and ports, citing infrastructure, fleet modernization and staff shortages as the sector’s biggest challenges, before focusing on the performance of inland navigation and the potential offered by automation and digitalization.

Bernd Reuther MdB during the keynote speech.

This was followed by the first thematic block with three keynote presentations on innovation projects from across Germany. First, Tim Holzki from the Technical University of Berlin presented the A-SWARM project, which is investigating route sharing with small autonomous marine units for use in urban areas. Holzki emphasized the close connection between city logistics on the waterway and a meaningful connection to the last mile, for example with cargo bikes or e-vehicles. In the next presentation, Janusz Andrzej Piotrowski from the Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg presented the economic potential of autonomous vessels powered by renewable energy, a key feature of the European AVATAR project. The project aims to relieve road congestion and avoid noise and exhaust emissions by developing economically viable alternatives via waterways. Daniel Rybarczyk from the Berlin-based company BANLabs presented the idea of the “Smart Port Shuttle Hildesheim”. This is an autonomous concept for better connecting ports in branch canals with the main route. In this specific case, the port of Hildesheim will be connected to the Mittelland Canal in the branch canal of the same name. The focus is on a push-tow concept that offers the necessary flexibility and allows intermediate storage of the lighter units on the water.

Project concept DeConTrans from the presentation at the end of the project.
Presentation of scenario 8 from the DeConTrans presentation.

In the second block of topics, which focused on results from research projects in North Rhine-Westphalia, Cyril Alias, project manager and head of the department for transport systems and logistics at the DST, first presented the DeConTrans project concept. It comprises a logistics concept integrated into the existing freight flows in the area between the Rhine and the Weser, small inland vessels for single-layer container traffic, and a transhipment concept that is primarily based on existing transhipment infrastructure and provides for a mobile on-board crane for demand-oriented transhipment at decentralized transhipment points. Subsequently, the developed simulation tool for the investigation of the overall concept was presented in a live demonstration by Sven Severin from the RIF – Institute for Research and Transfer. At the end of the presentation Jonas zum Felde (DST) presented the results of the detailed simulation study of the project. In the same thematic block, Prof. Holger Beckmann from the Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences presented the concept of SmartPark City Hubs (SPaCiH) from the project of the same name. The concept consists of hub locations connected by rail and barge to realize sustainable supply in urban and rural areas. In the last presentation of the day, Günter Hackenfort from GH System presented the iWALD project, which deals with the development of standardized small containers and the associated infrastructure. Together with the projects DeConTrans and SPaCiH, this results in an overall idea for the urban supply of the future.

The following panel discussion, moderated by Matthias Simons from the Lower Rhine Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Duisburg – Wesel – Kleve, was attended by Bernd Reuther MP and Cyril Alias, as well as Marcel Lohbeck (BÖB and VBW), Jens Hohls (Port of Braunschweig) and Hendrik Stöhr (Reederei Deymann). The discussion focused on the potential of city logistics on waterways and the conditions necessary for this, such as the use of standard load carriers, a holistic view of the logistics chain and social acceptance. The panel also discussed funding opportunities, for example in the form of operating subsidies and relaxed legal requirements, as well as the establishment of real laboratories to test innovations in the market environment.

The participants of the panel discussion: (top, left to right) Matthias Simons, Bernd Reuther MP, Marcel Lohbeck, (bottom, left to right) Cyril Alias, Jens Hohls, Hendrik Stöhr.

Overall, the event demonstrated to the interested participants the wide range of applications of inland navigation in city and regional logistics. The good integrability of inland navigation in complex, sometimes global transport chains was also demonstrated – not least by the three research projects from North Rhine-Westphalia.

You can find out more about the DeConTrans research project here: DeConTrans

The complete program of the event can be found here (in German language only): Program flyer

he presentations of the lectures can be downloaded here (in German language only): JRF post-event report

A recording of the event is available on the JRF YouTube channel:

 

For further information, please reach out to

Mr. Jonas zum Felde M.Sc., Phone: +49 (0) 203 / 99 369 72, Mail: zumfelde@dst-org.de
Mr. Cyril Alias M.Sc., Phone: +49 (0) 203 / 99 369 52, Mail: alias@dst-org.de

 

Error: Only up to 6 widgets are supported in this layout. If you need more add your own layout.

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Address

DST
Development Centre for
Ship Technology and Transport Systems

Oststr. 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Directions

divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

„JRF vor Ort“-Veranstaltung
Urbane Versorgung über die Wasserstraße

Am 28. März 2022 fand die Online-Veranstaltung „Urbane Versorgung über die Wasserstraße“ im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe „JRF vor Ort“ statt. Sie war gleichzeitig als Abschlussveranstaltung des Forschungsvorhabens „DeConTrans – Innovative Konzepte für einen dezentralen Containertransport auf der Wasserstraße“ mit Beteiligung der beiden JRF-Mitgliedsinstitute – DST und RIF – konzipiert.


(Foto: DST e. V.)

Zur Veranstaltung begrüßte Ramona Fels, stellvertretende Vorstandsvorsitzende und kaufmännische Vorständin der Johannes-Rau-Forschungsgemeinschaft, die auch als Moderatorin durch die Veranstaltung führte, die Teilnehmer. Mit knapp 120 Anmeldungen stieß die Veranstaltung auf reges Interesse in der Fachöffentlichkeit.

In seiner Keynote sprach der Bundestagsabgeordnete Bernd Reuther MdB (FDP), Obmann im Verkehrsausschuss und Sprecher der Parlamentsgruppe Binnenschifffahrt im Deutschen Bundestag, über die weitreichenden, ungenutzten Potenziale der Binnenschifffahrt und -häfen und nannte die Infrastruktur, Flottenmodernisierung und den Personalmangel als größte Herausforderungen des Sektors, bevor er auf die Leistungsfähigkeit der Binnenschifffahrt und die Potenziale durch Automatisierung und Digitalisierung abhob.

Bernd Reuther MdB während des Keynote-Vortrag.

Darauf folgte der erste Themenblock mit drei Impulsvorträgen zu Innovationsprojekten aus ganz Deutschland. Zunächst stellte Tim Holzki von der Technischen Universität Berlin das Projekt A-SWARM vor, das die gemeinsame Nutzung von Wegstrecken mit kleinen autonomen Schiffseinheiten für den Einsatz in städtischen Gebieten untersucht. Holzki betonte die enge Verbundenheit von Citylogistik auf der Wasserstraße und einem sinnvollen Anschluss an die letzte Meile, beispielsweise mit Lastenrädern oder E-Fahrzeugen. Im nächsten Vortrag stellte Janusz Andrzej Piotrowski von der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg das wirtschaftliche Potenzial von autonomen, mit regenerativen Energien betriebenen Schiffen, die ein zentrales Merkmal des europäischen Projekts AVATAR darstellen, vor. Ziel des Projekts ist es, die Straße zu entlasten und Lärm und Abgas-Emissionen zu vermeiden, indem wirtschaftlich sinnvolle Alternativen über die Wasserstraße entwickelt werden. Daniel Rybarczyk von der Berliner Firma BANLabs präsentierte die Idee des „Smart Port Shuttle Hildesheim“. Dabei handelt es sich um ein autonomes Konzept zur besseren Anbindung von Häfen in Stichkanälen mit der Hauptstrecke. Im konkreten Fall wird der Hafen Hildesheim im gleichnamigen Stichkanal mit dem Mittellandkanal verbunden. Im Fokus steht dabei ein Schubverbandskonzept, welches die notwendige Flexibilität bietet und eine Zwischenlagerung der Leichtereinheiten auf dem Wasser erlaubt.

Projektkonzept DeConTrans aus dem Vortrag zum Projektabschluss.
Vorstellung des Szenario 8 aus dem DeConTrans Vortrag.

Im zweiten Themenblock, der auf Ergebnisse aus nordrhein-westfälischen Forschungsvorhaben fokussierte, stellte Cyril Alias, Projektleiter und Leiter des Fachbereichs Logistik & Verkehr im DST, zunächst das Projektkonzept von DeConTrans vor. Es umfasst dabei ein in die bestehenden Güterströme integriertes Logistikkonzept im Gebiet zwischen Rhein und Weser, kleine Binnenschiffe für den einlagigen Containerverkehr sowie ein Umschlagkonzept, das primär auf bestehende Umschlaginfrastruktur fußt und einen mobilen Bordkran für den bedarfsgerechten Umschlag an dezentralen Umschlagstellen vorsieht. Anschließend wurde das entwickelte Simulationstool zur Untersuchung des Gesamtkonzeptes durch Sven Severin vom RIF – Institut für Forschung und Transfer in einer Live-Demonstration vorgeführt. Zum Abschluss des Vortrags stellte Jonas zum Felde (DST) die Ergebnisse der ausführlichen Simulationsstudie des Projekts vor. Im gleichen Themenblock stellte Prof. Holger Beckmann von der Hochschule Niederrhein stellte das Konzept der SmartPark City Hubs (SPaCiH) aus dem gleichnamigen Projekt vor. Das Konzept besteht aus Hub-Standorten, die mit Bahn und Binnenschiff verbunden sind, um eine nachhaltige Versorgung im städtischen und ländlichen Raum zu realisieren. Im letzten Vortrag des Tages stellte Günter Hackenfort von GH System das Projekt iWALD vor, welches sich mit der Entwicklung von standardisierten Kleincontainern und der dazugehörigen Infrastruktur befasst. Zusammen mit den Projekten DeConTrans und SPaCiH ergibt sich hieraus eine Gesamtidee für die urbane Versorgung der Zukunft.

An der folgenden Podiumsdiskussion, die von Matthias Simons von der Niederrheinischen IHK zu Duisburg – Wesel – Kleve moderiert wurde, nahmen neben Bernd Reuther, MdB und Cyril Alias auch Marcel Lohbeck (BÖB und VBW), Jens Hohls (Hafen Braunschweig) und Hendrik Stöhr (Reederei Deymann) teil. Die Diskussion befasste sich mit den Potenzialen der Citylogistik auf der Wasserstraße und den hierfür notwendigen Bedingungen, etwa dem Einsatz von Standardladungsträgern, einer ganzheitlichen Betrachtung der Logistikkette und der gesellschaftlichen Akzeptanz. Darüber hinaus wurden die Fördermöglichkeiten, beispielsweise in Form von Betriebsförderungen und gelockerten rechtlichen Vorgaben, sowie die Einrichtung von Reallaboren zur Erprobung von Innovationen im Marktumfeld besprochen.

Die Teilnehmer der Podiumsdiskussion: Von links oben: Matthias Simons, Bernd Reuther, Marcel Lohbeck. Unten: Cyril Alias, Jens Hohls, Hendrik Stöhr.

Insgesamt führte die Veranstaltung den interessierten Teilnehmern die große Bandbreite von Anwendungen der Binnenschifffahrt in der City- und Regionallogistik vor Augen. Ebenso wurde die gute Integrierbarkeit des Binnenschiffs in komplexe, mitunter globale Transportketten dargelegt – nicht zuletzt durch die drei Forschungsvorhaben aus Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Mehr über das Forschungsvorhaben DeConTrans erfahren Sie hier: DeConTrans

Das vollständige Programm zur Veranstaltung findet Sie hier: Programmflyer

Die Präsentationen zu den Vorträgen können hier heruntergeladen werden: JRF-Nachbericht

Ein Mitschnitt der Veranstaltung ist über den Youtube-Kanal der JRF verfügbar:

 

Ansprechpartner:

Jonas zum Felde M.Sc., Tel.: 0203 / 99 369 72, E-Mail: zumfelde@dst-org.de
Cyril Alias M.Sc., Tel.: 0203 / 99 369 52, E-Mail: alias@dst-org.de

 

Wegweisende Konzepte
für Schifffahrt und Logistik

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Adresse

DST
Entwicklungszentrum für
Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e. V.

Oststraße 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Anfahrt