divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

DeConTrans

Innovative concepts for a decentralized waterborne container transport

Development of a concept for container distribution in North Rhine-Westphalia using small inland vessels and decentralised transhipment points

In metropolitan regions such as the Rhine-Ruhr area, the increasing container transport and the associated growth in road freight traffic are pushing the road infrastructure to its limits. The congestion of the roads leads to increased noise pollution and environmental pollution, as well as increased traffic jams. Inland navigation and the German waterways, especially in the western German canal network, offer logistics a considerable amount of unused capacity.

Therefore, an increased use of inland navigation presents itself as a solution to the initial situation. This offers more cost- and energy-efficient transport, but decision-makers are often not sufficiently aware of this fact and so inland navigation is primarily used in the metropolitan areas along the Rhine. The DeConTrans project focuses on the possibilities of container hinterland transport on the West German canal network as a feeder transport to and from the Rhine ports.
DeConTrans offers an innovative approach to container transport by inland vessel, building on existing transport concepts and complementing them in a meaningful way. It is a decentralised concept based on small, hybrid-electrically powered (and in future automatable) vessels. According to the current project status, the concept can be divided into four interconnected sub-concepts:

Logistics concept: After conducting intensive research and interviews with experts, a total of 105 possible transhipment points and six suitable navigable canals were identified in the western German canal network. The 105 transhipment points include the ports of Dortmund, Hamm, Herne, Münster and Osnabrück, but also suitable port structures of disused coal plants, among others. Destination ports for container transport are Duisburg and Wesel, via which further transport to the North Sea ports runs. Complex allocation rules were used to determine which transshipment point receives which freight volume. The transport network thus has a realistic flow of goods. A cost comparison with existing transport concepts that do not use the West German canal system is still pending.

Model tests in the DST test tank.

Overview of potential transhipment points in NRW.

Vessel concept: Small ships (8 to 36 TEU) suitable for the canal system are being developed. The transport can be carried out with one or, if necessary, two container layers. The configuration of the ships is adapted to the conditions of the canal system and includes a hybrid electric drive and automatic mooring systems. Scenarios with different personnel deployment plans are also being examined.

Transshipment concept: If available, the existing container transshipment structure of the transshipment points will be used. Further handling systems, a fixed crane stationed on the ship and a mobile shipboard crane, will be examined for suitability. These are to enable transshipment at transshipment points that do not have active or sufficient structures.

CAD rendering of the on-board crane concept for use in the canal network.

Integration concept: In order to demonstrate the viability of the West German canal system in existing transport and economic structures, a proof of integrability in today’s (global) supply chains will be presented within the framework of DeConTrans, involving all actors involved (ships, transhipment system, trucks). For this purpose, existing IT services and data management applications will be used, which are already successfully in use for existing supply chains.

A simulation environment will be created that prototypically models the relevant system components of the four concepts mentioned and enables the simulation of different scenarios. On the basis of this, an evaluation of different design options will be carried out with the help of predefined criteria, which will form the basis for the choice of the integrated transport system.

Together with the two research projects SPaCiH – SmartPark City Hubs and Virtual Infrastructure and iWALD – Integral World and Local Delivery, DeConTrans forms a consistent process flow of the future in which the goods are brought from the seaports via the waterway to North Rhine-Westphalia and unloaded at the numerous transhipment points in the western German canal network (DeConTrans), where they are fed into various value-added processes, such as sorting or finishing steps, and prepared for further transport (SPaCiH) and then transported in standardised small load carriers to the final recipient in urban distribution (iWALD). For this reason, the three projects have joined together to form a project family in order to align the respective developments with the sister projects and thus ensure future compatibility of the results as well as the feasibility of the process flow.

Overall, the DeConTrans project thus contributes to relieving the burden on the road and rail modes of transport and to the economic utilisation of the domestic waterways and their infrastructure. At the same time, emissions are reduced and sustainable management is made possible.

Inclusion of DeltaPort GmbH & Co. KG to the project advisory board.

 

Scientific publications:

Ley, J., Broß, H., & Kämmerling, E. (2022). Experimental Investigation of Passing Ship Effects on Moored Ships in a Canal Port. In M. Candries, E. Lataire, Z. Yuan, K. Eloot, & G. Delefortrie (Eds.), Proceedings of the 6th MASHCON International Conference on Ship Manoeuvring in Shallow and Confined Water – with special focus on port manoeuvres. Glasgow, United Kingdom.
Link

Alias, C., Broß, H., zum Felde, J., & Gründer, D. (2021). Enabling Decentralized Transshipment in Waterborne Container Transportation. In C. Jahn, W. Kersten, & C. M. Ringle (Eds.), Proceedings of the Hamburg International Conference of Logistics (HICL): Vol. 32, Adapting to the Future: Maritime and City Logistics in the Context of Digitalization and Sustainability. Pt. 2 (1st ed., 137-166). Berlin, Germany: epubli GmbH.
DOILink

Alias, C., Pusch, L., Gründer, D., Dahlke, L., Broß, H., Heerwagen, O., & zum Felde, J (2021). Designing a Decentralized Waterborne Container Transportation Service using Small Inland Vessels. In Proff, H. (Ed.), Making Connected Mobility Work: Technische und wirtschaftliche Aspekte (pp. 573–601). Wiesbaden, Germany: Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden.
DOILink

Alias, C., Dahlke, L., Heerwagen, O., Gründer, D., zum Felde, J., Pusch, L., & Severin, S. (2020). Identifying Suitable Transshipment Points for a Decentralized Waterborne Container Transportation Network. In 2020 IEEE International Conference on Industrial Engineering and Engineering Management (IEEM) (pp. 799–806). Piscataway (NJ), USA: IEEE.
DOILink

Alias, C., Gründer, D., Dahlke, L., zum Felde, J., & Pusch, L. (2020). Determining the Freight Volumes for a Decentralized Waterborne Container Transportation Service. In 2020 IEEE International Conference on Industrial Engineering and Engineering Management (IEEM) (pp. 786–793). Piscataway (NJ), USA: IEEE.
DOILink

 

Media review:

Project duration:

  • October 2018 – March 2022

Funding framework:

  • EFRE.NRW Leitmarktwettbewerb „MobilitätLogistik.NRW“, 3. Wettbewerbsrunde

 

Project coordination:

Project management:

 

Collaborative partners:

 

Associated partners:

 

Associated projects:

Funding notice:

This project is funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and by the State of North Rhine-Westphalia under the funding code EFRE-0801222 (DeConTrans, AZ: ML-2-1-010A).

Error: Only up to 6 widgets are supported in this layout. If you need more add your own layout.

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Address

DST
Development Centre for
Ship Technology and Transport Systems

Oststr. 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Directions

divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

DeConTrans

Innovative Konzepte für einen dezentralen Containertransport auf der Wasserstraße

Entwicklung eines Konzeptes zur Containerverteilung in Nordrhein-Westfalen mit Hilfe von kleinen Binnenschiffen und dezentralen Umschlagstellen

Der zunehmende Containertransport und das damit einhergehende Wachstum des Straßengüterverkehrs führt in Metropolregionen wie dem Rhein-Ruhr Gebiet dazu, das die Straßeninfrastruktur an ihre Grenzen kommt. Die Überlastung der Straßen führt zu einer erhöhten Lärmbelastung und Umweltverschmutzung, sowie einem verstärkten Stauaufkommen. Die Binnenschifffahrt und die deutschen Wasserstraßen insbesondere im westdeutschen Kanalnetz bieten der Logistik einen beträchtlichen Anteil an ungenutzten Kapazitäten.

Daher präsentiert sich als Lösung für die Ausgangslage eine verstärkte Nutzung der Binnenschifffahrt. Diese bietet einen kosten- und energieeffizienteren Transport, jedoch sind die Entscheidungsträger sich dieser Tatsache oftmals nicht ausreichend gewahr und so wird das Binnenschiff primär in den Ballungsräumen entlang des Rheins eingesetzt. Das Projekt DeConTrans fokussiert dabei die Möglichkeiten des Container-Hinterlandverkehrs auf dem westdeutschen Kanalnetz als ein Zubringerverkehr zu und von den Rheinhäfen.
DeConTrans bietet einen innovativen Ansatz für den Containertransport per Binnenschiff, baut auf vorhandenen Transportkonzepten auf und ergänzt diese sinnvoll. Es ist ein dezentrales Konzept auf Basis kleiner, hybridelektrisch angetriebener (sowie künftig automatisierbarer) Schiffe. Das Konzept lässt sich nach aktuellem Projektstand in vier miteinander verbundene Teilkonzepte aufteilen:

Logistikkonzept: Nach Durchführung intensiver Recherchen und Experteninterviews wurden insgesamt 105 mögliche Umschlagstellen und sechs geeignete, befahrbare Kanäle im westdeutschen Kanalnetz identifiziert. Zu den 105 Umschlagstellen gehören unter anderem die Häfen von Dortmund, Hamm, Herne, Münster und Osnabrück, aber auch u.a. geeignete Hafenstrukturen von stillgelegten Kohlewerken. Zielhäfen des Containertransports sind Duisburg und Wesel, über welche der weitere Transport zu den Nordseehäfen läuft. Durch komplexe Allokationsregeln wurde bestimmt, welche Umschlagstelle welches Frachtaufkommen erhält. Im Transportnetz besteht somit realitätsgetreu abgebildeter Güterfluss. Ein Kostenvergleich mit bestehenden Transportkonzepten, die das westdeutsche Kanalsystem nicht nutzen, steht noch aus.

Modellversuche im Versuchstank des DST.

Übersicht der potenziellen Umschlagstellen in NRW.

Schiffskonzept: Es werden kleine, für das Kanalsystem geeignete Schiffe (8 bis 36 TEU) entwickelt. Der Transport kann mit einer oder ggfs. auch zwei Containerlagen erfolgen. Die Konfiguration der Schiffe ist an die Gegebenheiten des Kanalsystems angepasst und es liegen u.a. ein hybridelektrischer Antrieb sowie automatische Festmachersysteme vor. Es werden zudem Szenarien mit unterschiedlichen Personaleinsatzplänen geprüft.

Umschlagskonzept: Sofern vorhanden, wird auf die bestehende Containerumschlagsstruktur der Umschlagsstellen zurückgegriffen. Weitere Umschlagssysteme, ein auf dem Schiff fest stationierter und ein mobiler Bord-Kran, werden auf Eignung geprüft. Diese sollen den Umschlag an Umschlagsstellen, die keine aktiven oder ausreichenden Strukturen aufweisen, ermöglichen.

CAD-Rendering des Bordkrankonzepts für Nutzung im Kanalnetz.

Integrationskonzept: Um die Tragfähigkeit des westdeutschen Kanalsystems in bestehende Transport- und Wirtschaftsstrukturen darzulegen, wird im Rahmen von DeConTrans ein Nachweis der Integrierbarkeit in heutige (globale) Lieferketten unter Einbindung aller beteiligten Akteure (Schiffe, Umschlagssystem, LKW) vorgelegt. Dafür sollen bestehende IT-Services und Datenmanagement-Applikationen genutzt werden, die bereits für bestehende Lieferketten erfolgreich im Einsatz sind.

Es wird eine Simulationsumgebung geschaffen, die die relevanten Systemkomponenten der vier genannten Konzepte prototypisch modelliert und die Simulation verschiedener Szenarien ermöglicht. Auf Basis dessen erfolgt mit Hilfe von vordefinierten Kriterien eine Bewertung verschiedener Gestaltungsoptionen, die bei der Wahl des integrierten Transportsystems zugrunde liegen.

Zusammen mit den beiden Forschungsvorhaben SPaCiH – SmartPark City Hubs und virtuelle Infrastruktur und iWALD – Integral World and Local Delivery bildet DeConTrans einen konsistenten Prozessablauf der Zukunft, in dem die Güter aus den Seehäfen über die Wasserstraße nach Nordrhein-Westfalen gebracht und an den zahlreichen Umschlagstellen im westdeutschen Kanalnetz entladen (DeConTrans), dort verschiedenen Wertschöpfungsprozessen, wie z.B. Sortier- oder Veredelungsschritten, zugeführt und für den Weitertransport vorbereitet (SPaCiH) und anschließend in der urbanen Distribution in standardisierten Kleinladungsträgern zum Endempfänger transportiert werden (iWALD). Aus diesem Grund haben sich die drei Vorhaben zu einer Projektfamilie zusammengeschlossen, um die jeweiligen Entwicklungen auf die Schwesterprojekte auszurichten und dadurch eine künftige Kompatibilität der Ergebnisse sowie die Realisierbarkeit des Prozessablaufs sicherzustellen.

Insgesamt leistet das Projekt DeConTrans somit einen Beitrag dazu, dass die Verkehrsträger Straße und Schiene entlastet und die inländischen Wasserstraßen und deren Infrastruktur wirtschaftlich ausgelastet werden. Zugleich werden Emissionen reduziert und nachhaltiges Wirtschaften ermöglicht.

Aufnahme der DeltaPort GmbH & Co. KG in den Projektbeirat.

Als Teil der Online-Veranstaltung „Urbane Versorgung über die Wasserstraße“ im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe „JRF vor Ort“ fand am 28. März 2022 die Abschlussveranstaltung des Forschungsvorhabens „DeConTrans – Innovative Konzepte für einen dezentralen Containertransport auf der Wasserstraße“ mit Beteiligung der beiden JRF-Mitgliedsinstitute – DST und RIF – statt. Neben einer Reihe fachlich verwandter Vorträge aus dem ganzen Bundesgebiet konnten dort die Ergebnisse der DeConTrans-Simulationsstudie vorgestellt werden. Zudem diskutierten in einer Podiumsdiskussion Vertreter aus dem Schifffahrtsgewerbe und der Hafenwirtschaft sowie aus Politik und Forschung über die Potenziale der Citylogistik auf der Wasserstraße und den hierfür notwendigen Bedingungen.

Ein Mitschnitt der Veranstaltung ist über den YouTube-Kanal der JRF verfügbar: Urbane Versorgung über die Wasserstraße

 

Wiss. Publikationen:

zum Felde, J., Alias, C. and Goudz, A. (2022) Comparing generic and dedicated tools of discrete-event simulation for examining inland waterway transportation services. In 2022 IEEE 6th International Conference on Logistics Operations Management (GOL). Piscataway (NJ), USA: IEEE.
DOILink

Ley, J., Broß, H., & Kämmerling, E. (2022). Experimental Investigation of Passing Ship Effects on Moored Ships in a Canal Port. In M. Candries, E. Lataire, Z. Yuan, K. Eloot, & G. Delefortrie (Eds.), Proceedings of the 6th MASHCON International Conference on Ship Manoeuvring in Shallow and Confined Water – with special focus on port manoeuvres. Glasgow, United Kingdom.
Link

Alias, C., Broß, H., zum Felde, J., & Gründer, D. (2021). Enabling Decentralized Transshipment in Waterborne Container Transportation. In C. Jahn, W. Kersten, & C. M. Ringle (Eds.), Proceedings of the Hamburg International Conference of Logistics (HICL): Vol. 32, Adapting to the Future: Maritime and City Logistics in the Context of Digitalization and Sustainability. Pt. 2 (1st ed., 137-166). Berlin, Germany: epubli GmbH.
DOILink

Alias, C., Pusch, L., Gründer, D., Dahlke, L., Broß, H., Heerwagen, O., & zum Felde, J (2021). Designing a Decentralized Waterborne Container Transportation Service using Small Inland Vessels. In Proff, H. (Ed.), Making Connected Mobility Work: Technische und wirtschaftliche Aspekte (pp. 573–601). Wiesbaden, Germany: Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden.
DOILink

Alias, C., Dahlke, L., Heerwagen, O., Gründer, D., zum Felde, J., Pusch, L., & Severin, S. (2020). Identifying Suitable Transshipment Points for a Decentralized Waterborne Container Transportation Network. In 2020 IEEE International Conference on Industrial Engineering and Engineering Management (IEEM) (pp. 799–806). Piscataway (NJ), USA: IEEE.
DOILink

Alias, C., Gründer, D., Dahlke, L., zum Felde, J., & Pusch, L. (2020). Determining the Freight Volumes for a Decentralized Waterborne Container Transportation Service. In 2020 IEEE International Conference on Industrial Engineering and Engineering Management (IEEM) (pp. 786–793). Piscataway (NJ), USA: IEEE.
DOILink

 

Medienspiegel:

Projektlaufzeit:

  • Oktober 2018 – März 2022

Förderkulisse:

  • EFRE.NRW Leitmarktwettbewerb „MobilitätLogistik.NRW“, 3. Wettbewerbsrunde

 

Projektkoordination:

Projektleitung:

 

Verbundpartner:

 

Assoziierte Partner:

 

Assoziierte Projekte:

Förderhinweis:

Dieses Vorhaben wird aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) sowie aus Mitteln des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen unter dem Förderkennzeichen EFRE-0801222 (DeConTrans, AZ: ML-2-1-010A) gefördert.

Wegweisende Konzepte
für Schifffahrt und Logistik

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Adresse

DST
Entwicklungszentrum für
Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e. V.

Oststraße 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Anfahrt