divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

Inland Waterway Transportation in northern and northeastern Germany – Challenges and Opportunities

Analysis of the challenges and opportunities of inland waterway transportation in northern and northeastern Germany – recommendations for action for industry and policy-making

According to current forecasts, significant growth in cargo traffic is expected in the coming years. Inland navigation will also benefit from this development, albeit at a disproportionately low rate. Overall, the development of inland navigation in recent years has fallen short of expectations. The strongest growth on almost all routes has been recorded by road-based transportation for years. This is particularly true in the study area. One reason for the unsatisfactory development is the inadequate expansion of the infrastructure and the insufficient use of opportunities arising from digitalisation. In addition, there have been other problems in recent years, such as more frequent and longer-lasting periods of low water and other extreme weather conditions.

In the medium to long term, the share of inland navigation in the transport volume is to be significantly increased, thus also contributing to climate and environmental protection. Therefore, it was necessary to identify problem areas and develop proposed solutions for the problems found.

As part of the study “Inland Navigation in Northern and North-Eastern Germany – Challenges and Perspectives” commissioned by Port of Hamburg Marketing together with the Elbe-Seitenkanal Alliance and the Elbe Alliance, the Development Centre for Ship Technology and Transport Systems (DST) together with the Bremen Institute of Shipping Economics and Logistics (ISL) and PLANCO Consulting from Essen examined inland navigation in the hinterland traffic of the Port of Hamburg. Inland navigation plays an important role for the economy in the federal states along the northern and north-eastern German waterways. In addition, the free capacities on the waterways, the increasing pressure for greening and the potential resulting from advancing digitalisation offer new opportunities for inland navigation.

In addition to market analyses, the investigation of employment and value-added effects, the determination of shift potential and infrastructure considerations, the study also includes concrete recommendations for action for the acting actors, for example with regard to the waterway infrastructure, possible measures to reduce emissions and the digitalisation of inland navigation. The main results of the study were presented to representatives of the press and the general public at a live online press conference.

The entire study as well as the recording of the online press conference can be accessed at the following web address: Inland Navigation Study.

 

Medienspiegel:

Client

  • Port of Hamburg Marketing
  • Bündnis Elbe-Seitenkanal e.V. (Lüneburg)
  • Elbe-Allianz e.V. (Magdeburg)

 

Point of contact:

Project management:

 

Collaborative partners:

The study was carried out within the framework of the COMBINE project, funded by the Interreg Baltic Sea Programme IV B.

Error: Only up to 6 widgets are supported in this layout. If you need more add your own layout.

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Address

DST
Development Centre for
Ship Technology and Transport Systems

Oststr. 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: +49 (0)203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Directions

divider
DST – Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V. - LOGO
Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e.V.

Binnenschifffahrt in Nord-/Nordostdeutschland – Herausforderungen und Perspektiven

Analyse der Herausforderungen und Perspektiven der Binnenschifffahrt in Nord- und Nordostdeutschland – Handlungsempfehlungen für Politik und Wirtschaft

Hafen Hamburg Marketing (Logo)

Aktuellen Prognosen zufolge wird in den nächsten Jahren ein deutliches Verkehrswachstum erwartet. Auch die Binnenschifffahrt profitiert von dieser Entwicklung, wenn auch unterproportional. Insgesamt bleibt die Entwicklung der Binnenschifffahrt in den letzten Jahren hinter den Erwartungen zurück. Den stärksten Zuwachs verzeichnet auf fast allen Relationen seit Jahren die Straße. Dies gilt insbesondere auch im Untersuchungsgebiet. Ein Grund für die unbefriedigende Entwicklung ist der nicht bedarfsgerechte Ausbau der Infrastruktur sowie eine unzureichende Nutzung von durch Digitalisierung sich ergebenden Möglichkeiten. Hinzu kommen in den letzten Jahren weitere Probleme wie etwa häufigere und länger anhaltende Niedrigwasserperioden und andere Wetter-Extrema.
Mittel- bis längerfristig soll der Anteil der Binnenschifffahrt am Transportaufkommen deutlich erhöht werden und damit auch ein Beitrag zum Klima- und Umweltschutz geleistet werden. Hierzu war es notwendig, Problemfelder zu identifizieren und Lösungsvorschläge für die gefundenen Probleme zu entwickeln.
Im Rahmen der von Hafen Hamburg Marketing gemeinsam mit dem Bündnis Elbe-Seitenkanal und der Elbe-Allianz in Auftrag gegebenen Studie „Binnenschifffahrt in Nord- und Nordostdeutschland – Herausforderungen und Perspektiven“ untersuchte das Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme (DST) zusammen mit dem Bremer Institut für Seeverkehrswirtschaft und Logistik (ISL) und PLANCO Consulting aus Essen die Binnenschifffahrt im Hinterlandverkehr des Hamburger Hafens. Die Binnenschifffahrt spielt für die Wirtschaft in den Bundesländern entlang des nord- und nordostdeutschen Wasserstraßengebietes eine bedeutende Rolle. Zudem bieten die freien Kapazitäten auf den Wasserwegen, der zunehmende Ökologisierungsdruck und die aus der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung resultierenden Potenziale neue Chancen für die Binnenschifffahrt.
Die Studie umfasst neben Marktanalysen, der Untersuchung von Beschäftigungs- und Wertschöpfungseffekten, der Bestimmung von Verlagerungspotenzialen sowie Infrastrukturbetrachtungen auch konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen für die handelnden Akteure, etwa hinsichtlich der Wasserstraßeninfrastruktur, möglicher Maßnahmen zur Emissionsreduzierung und der Digitalisierung der Binnenschifffahrt. Im Rahmen einer live übertragenen Online-Pressekonferenz wurden die wesentlichen Ergebnisse der Studie den Vertretern der Presse sowie der breiten Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.
Die gesamte Studie kann ebenso wie die Aufzeichnung der Online-Pressekonferenz unter folgender Webadresse abgerufen werden: Studie Binnenschifffahrt.

 

Medienspiegel:

Projektlaufzeit:

  • März 21 – September 21

Auftraggeber

  • Hafen Hamburg Marketing e.V. (Hamburg)
  • Bündnis Elbe-Seitenkanal e.V. (Lüneburg)
  • Elbe-Allianz e.V. (Magdeburg)

 

Ansprechpartner:

Projektkoordination:

 

Verbundpartner:

Die Studie wurde im Rahmen des COMBINE Projektes, gefördert durch das Interreg Ostseeprogramm IV B, durchgeführt.

Wegweisende Konzepte
für Schifffahrt und Logistik

  • Aif Logo Slide 001
  • Jrf Logo Slide 001
  • Logo UDE
  • ZLV Logo Weboptimiert1

Adresse

DST
Entwicklungszentrum für
Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e. V.

Oststraße 77
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 0
Fax: 0203 - 99 36 9 - 70

E-Mail: dst@dst-org.de

Anfahrt